I'm blogging about fashionable events, strategies and campaigns worldwide. PR Pret-a-Porter is about public relations, branding, marketing, e-stuff and what I recommend as a fine observer of the market.

Are you scared of a semicolon ?oana vasiliu

This is a challenge from The Oatmeal, one of the best creative sites I’ve seen in a while.

The little punctuation mark only wants to make your life easier. To start using it correctly, take a look at this handy infographic from The Oatmeal. Before you know it, you’ll be using semicolons left and right. Correctly, of course.

oana vasiliu

Here are a few pointers to get you started:

  • Semicolons link two independent clauses. Each clause should be able to exist by itself as a complete sentence.
  • Don’t use a semicolon with a conjunction.
  • Semicolons signal you to pause. Pause longer than you would with a comma, but not as long as you would with a period.
  • Use semicolons if you are making a list of items separated by commas.
oana vasiliu
Cool enough for me and for the grammar update.
Better tomorrow,
PR Pret-a-Porter.
Comments on: "Grammar break via The Oatmeal" (3)

  1. Grammar break via The Oatmeal PR Pret-a-Porter I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my problem. You’re amazing! Thanks! your article about Grammar break via The Oatmeal PR Pret-a-Porter Best Regards Veronica Shane

  2. Hello! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this page to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  3. […] a fan of The Oatmeal, as you already know. I wrote here, here and here about their funny stuff. Today, The Oatmeal tells us something about our email address. Take a look […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

