I'm blogging about fashionable events, strategies and campaigns worldwide. PR Pret-a-Porter is about public relations, branding, marketing, e-stuff and what I recommend as a fine observer of the market.

Steve Jobs and the Seven Rules of Success

1. Do what you love. Jobs once said, “People with passion can change the world for the better.” Asked about the advice he would offer would-be entrepreneurs, he said, “I’d get a job as a busboy or something until I figured out what I was really passionate about.” That’s how much it meant to him. Passion is everything.

2. Put a dent in the universe. Jobs believed in the power of vision. He once asked then-Pepsi President, John Sculley, “Do you want to spend your life selling sugar water or do you want to change the world?” Don’t lose sight of the big vision.

3. Make connections. Jobs once said creativity is connecting things. He meant that people with a broad set of life experiences can often see things that others miss. He took calligraphy classes that didn’t have any practical use in his life — until he built the Macintosh. Jobs traveled to India and Asia. He studied design and hospitality. Don’t live in a bubble. Connect ideas from different fields.

4. Say no to 1,000 things. Jobs was as proud of what Apple chose not to do as he was of what Apple did. When he returned in Apple in 1997, he took a company with 350 products and reduced them to 10 products in a two-year period. Why? So he could put the “A-Team” on each product. What are you saying “no” to?

5. Create insanely different experiences. Jobs also sought innovation in the customer-service experience. When he first came up with the concept for the Apple Stores, he said they would be different because instead of just moving boxes, the stores would enrich lives. Everything about the experience you have when you walk into an Apple store is intended to enrich your life and to create an emotional connection between you and the Apple brand. What are you doing to enrich the lives of your customers?

6. Master the message. You can have the greatest idea in the world, but if you can’t communicate your ideas, it doesn’t matter. Jobs was the world’s greatest corporate storyteller. Instead of simply delivering a presentation like most people do, he informed, he educated, he inspired and he entertained, all in one presentation.

7. Sell dreams, not products. Jobs captured our imagination because he really understood his customer. He knew that tablets would not capture our imaginations if they were too complicated. The result? One button on the front of an iPad. It’s so simple, a 2-year-old can use it. Your customers don’t care about your product, they care about themselves, their hopes, their ambitions.

Better tomorrow,

PR Pret-a-Porter.

Comments on: "Success rules via Steve Jobs" (24)

  1. “Success rules via Steve Jobs | PR Pret-a-Porter” seriously makes myself
    ponder a little bit more. I enjoyed each and every
    single piece of this blog post. Regards ,Valerie

  2. thanks for the tips on seo it really helps.

  3. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same outcome.

  4. Nice articule Id like it . Thank yor for this

  5. I uncovered your internet page by way of research motors even when seeking out for that connected topic, your internet page demonstrated up up. give a large number of as a consequence of you for that fabulous blog. Amazingg skills! hold on man, you rock!

  6. There are definitely numerous particulars like that to take into consideration. That is a nice level to deliver up. I supply the ideas above as general inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you bring up the place a very powerful thing might be working in honest good faith. I don?t know if best practices have emerged around things like that, but I am sure that your job is clearly recognized as a good game. Each girls and boys really feel the impact of only a moment’s pleasure, for the remainder of their lives.

  7. I got what you specify, thanks for swing up. Woh I am gladsome to happen this website finished google. Thanks For Share Success rules via Steve Jobs PR Pret-a-Porter.

  8. I do agree with all of the concepts you have presented for your post. They’re very convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are very brief for novices. May just you please prolong them a little from next time? Thank you for the post.

  9. I like your texts very much. That is why I would like to use them in my article, if that’s ok. I am interesting in that topic, therefore I need you help. Please, say YES. Thanks.

  10. I love your topic, it’s nice when you can tell somebody actuallly puts effort into a layout, and gives the layouts. If you set up updates value.

  11. Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was curious about your situation; many of us have developed some nice practices and we are looking to trade strategies with other folks, why not shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  12. I agree with your thoughts here and I really love your blog! I’ve bookmarked it so that I can come back & read more in the future.

  13. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very helpful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this particular info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  14. This is a great blog, very informative and well thought out articles. Just thought i would drop my site name to help you guys out, we teach social media marketing through tutorials. We can help you get more visitors to this site through facebook, linkedin and twitter. Check us out, it is worth a look. – http://www.SocialContender.com

  15. Awesome read. I just passed this onto a buddy who was doing a little research on that. He actually bought me lunch because I found it for him! So let me rephrase: Thanx for lunch! I have bookmarked your website: https://prpretaporter.wordpress.com/2011/10/25/success-rules-via-steve-jobs/ and will check back often. Thanks for the awesome info!

  16. There are some fascinating points in time on this article but I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity but I will take maintain opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want extra! Added to FeedBurner as properly

  17. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get three emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service? Appreciate it!

  18. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back down the road. Cheers

  19. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our entire community will be grateful to you.

  20. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Great work!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

